Databases
NoveList - Reader's advisory database with information on over 125,000 fiction titles with subject access, 100,000 book reviews, genre and topic book lists, awards lists, book discussions guides and book talks.
JSTOR - A fulltext archive of scholary journals. Available in the library only.
Literary Reference Center - Access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses about authors of every discipline.
Twayne Authors Series - Features the content of nearly 600 books of literary from three print series — Twayne U.S. Authors, Twayne English Authors and Twayne World Authors.
Websites
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Literature
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Westchester-Literature
Databases
Academic OneFile - The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Business & Company Resource Center - Detailed company and industry news that includes profiles, company histories, brand information, rankings and investment reports, etc.
Financial Times (1994 - Current) - Available through General OneFile.
General OneFile - A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.
The New York Times (1985 - Current) - Available through General OneFile. Includes the Book Review section and the Magazine.
Wall Street Journal
(1984 - Current) - Available through Proquest. Click on Publications and select Wall Street Journal: Eastern Edition to browse by issue.
Websites
Databases
Learning Express Job & Career Accelerator - Explore different occupations, match skills & interests with careers, search job postings, create resumes & cover letters, practice interview skills, and more.
Websites
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Career & Job Information
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Westchester-Business
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Westchester-Job Information
WEBS Career Counseling Service - Career Counseling Courses offered by the Westchester Library System.
Databases
NoveList K-8 - Reader's advisory database with information on over 125,000 fiction titles with subject access, 100,000 book reviews, genre and topic book lists, awards lists, book discussions guides and book talks.
Primary Search - Access to elementary school magazines through EBSCO.
Searchasaurus - An interactive and educational source for elementary & Middle school students.
Tumblebook Library - An online collection of animated, talking picture books, reading comprehension quizzes, educational games, and teacher resources for libraries.
Databases
Consumer Reports - Full Text Coverage in Academic OneFile from 1/1/99 to 6/1/2009. For more recent articles, copies of the magazine are available in the Reference Room.Websites
Databases
Learning Express - Learning Express offers practice tests, exercises, and skill-building courses to help further your educational and career goals.
WEBS Education Search - Explore over 45 graduate, undergraduate and vocational schools in Westchester County offering over 300 subjects.
Websites
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Education
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Westchester-Colleges
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Westchester-ESL & Adult Education
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Westchester-GED
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Westchester-Teacher Resources
Databases
Ancestry Plus - Includes U.S. Federal census, American genealogical biographical index, immigration list index and more. NOTE: This database cannot be accessed from home.
Websites
Databases
Issues & Controversies - Explore hot topics in politics, government, business, education, & popular culture in this database from Facts on File.
JSTOR - A fulltext archive of scholary journals. Available in the library only.
New York Times Historical (1851 - 2001) - Get full text articles from the NYT from 1851 to 2001. For more current articles, use General OneFile.
Websites
American Factfinder - Get population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
FirstGov - A portal to Federal Government websites.
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Government
Librarians' Best Web Picks-History
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Westchester-Government
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Westchester-History
New York State Consolidated Laws - Search the Consolidated Laws of New York State.
New York State Assembly - Home on the web for the New York State Assembly.
New York State Senate - Home on the web for the New York State Senate.
Thomas - A Library of Congress database designed to make federal legislative information freely available to the public, such as bills, resolutions, the Congressional Record, Committee Info, Treaties, and more.
United States House of Representatives - Home on the web for the U.S. House of Representatives.
United States Senate - Home on the web for the U.S. Senate.
Databases
Health Reference Center Academic - Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students.
Websites
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Health & Nutrition
Librarians' Best Web Picks-Westchester-Health
Databases
Tell Me More - Want to learn a new language? Tell Me More is a complete language learning solution featuring more than 2000 hours of learning per language. Learn American English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Spanish (Latin American). Tell Me More is compatible with Internet Explorer only. For home access, use your library card number.
Websites
TravLang.com - Language translation, currency conversion and more.Elected Officials:
Senator Charles Schumer
Senator Kirsten Gilibrand
Representative Nita Lowey
State Senator Suzi Oppenheimer
State Assemblywoman Amy Paulin
Scarsdale Links:
Scarsdale Village Hall
Scarsdale Public Schools
Scarsdale Adult School
Scarsdale League of Women Voters
Scarsdale Town & Village Civic Club Education Forum (TVCC)
Westchester Links:
Westchester County Government
Westchester County Board of Legislators
Journal News (LoHud)
New York State Links:
New York State Home Page
New York State Governor's Home Page
New York State Senate
New York State Assembly
New York State Attorney General
New York State Department of Education
Databases
Academic OneFile - The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Business & Company Resource Center - Detailed company and industry news that includes profiles, company histories, brand information, rankings and investment reports, etc.
Financial Times (1994 - Current) - Available through General OneFile.
General OneFile - A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.
Issues & Controversies - Explore hot topics in politics, government, business, education, & popular culture in this database from Facts on File.
JSTOR - A fulltext archive of scholary journals. Available in the library only.
The New York Times (1985 - Current) - Available through General OneFile. Includes the Book Review section and the Magazine.
New York Times Historical (1851 - 2001) - Get full text articles from the NYT from 1851 to 2001. For more current articles, use General OneFile.
Wall Street Journal
(1984 - Current) - Available through Proquest. Click on Publications and select Wall Street Journal: Eastern Edition to browse by issue.
Websites
Librarians' Best Web Picks - Travel
TravLang.com - Language translation, currency conversion and more.